YOUNG LEGIONNAIRE set to release debut full-length album ‘Crisis Works’ on May 9th 2011

Wed 16th February, 2011 @ 3:56pm by raeganoates

YOUNG LEGIONNAIRE set to release debut full-length album ‘Crisis Works’ on May 9th 2011

Formed by Paul Mullen (formerly of yourcodenameis:milo) and Gordon Moakes (of Bloc Party), YOUNG LEGIONNAIRE are finally set to release their HUGE debut album ‘Crisis Works’ on May 9th through Wichita Recordings. 'Crisis Works' is loosely concerned with the idea that crisis can kind of be engineered around us to make us more pliable. As Gordon explains; 'We're living with a siege mentality about recession and spending cuts that's becoming the narrative for our times. But it's that siege mentality that makes it easier to confer 'difficult' decisions on us from above. It's an excuse, but also an opportunity.' The record, he says, is about 'Global economics - but it's probably more about the crisis principle on a personal level; how it affects your own decisions and thoughts'.

Produced by Rich Jackson (Future Of The Left, The Chapman Family), the band’s first single/up front track ‘Chapter, Verse’ got its first, debut spin on BBC Radio 1 with Zane Lowe on Monday 7th Feb and is also available to download now from .

The album follows on from the release of the band’s debut double A-side single ‘Colossus/Iron Dream’ (which was released through Holy Roar in August 2010) and will be available on CD, vinyl LP and digital download.

Live wise, following on from two recent tours with Pulled Apart by Horses, the band will see in 2011 supporting Les Savy Fav across February/March ahead of a summer of festivals, including The Great Escape and Sonisphere. They will also be heading to Austin for SXSW and will be playing a number of shows in the US through March 2011.

YOUNG LEGIONNAIRE initially started following a chance meeting between Paul and Gordon during the recording sessions for the ‘Print Is Dead’ album in 2006, where Gordon guested on the track ‘Wait a Minute’ with Paul and the rest of YCNI:M. Some more conversations followed, eventually leading to their first rehearsals together as a band in 2009 (with Will Bowerman on drums, formerly of I Was A Cub Scout, now of La Roux). The songs took shape over the course of occasional writing sessions, eventually becoming more concrete when the band were joined full-time by drummer Dean Pearson.

The album is about volume and noise, but also something more subtle, as Gordon puts it;

‘The idea was to make a big, juddering noise but weave a trail of melody through it’. He goes on;

‘Even though the format of guitar, bass, drums and vocal is established, is nothing ground-breaking, the possibilities are endless. There's always another riff to write, a heavier sound to find. And we're looking for the magic in the gaps between the riffs too. There's a tenderness to it, a fragility almost, that we stumbled upon, and I'm inspired by that, to explore that. The record is about the brutal, the fragile and the possible.’


No comments yet... why not be the first?

Leave a comment